Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Singapore Websites & Languages Skip to Content

ISO/TS 16949, the automotive quality management system (QMS) standard, has been under review and the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) will release the final 4th edition in December 2016. All organizations currently certified to ISO/TS 16949:2009 3rd Edition must transition to the new ISO/TS 16949:2016 4th Edition by September 14, 2018, or lose their certification.

IATF will also release the revised scheme rules that support the certification process from the current 4th Edition to the 5th Edition rules in December 2016, this will include all the Sanctioned Interpretations since the 4th edition rules were issued in December 2013.

What are the changes to ISO/TS 16949:2016 4th Edition?

The global automotive industry is facing important challenges. Among them is the rapid growth of the supply base in emerging markets, and the need to improve their performance as reliable and cost-effective sources of supply.

Key changes to the standard include:

  • Incorporation of some of the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) Customer Specific Requirements (CSRs) to reduce the complexity and number of CSRs for suppliers to implement and for Certification Bodies (CB) to audit
  • Inclusion of requirements for safety-related parts and processes
  • Enhancement of product traceability requirements
  • Inclusion of requirements for products with embedded software
  • Inclusion of a warranty management process addressing no trouble found (NTF) and the use of automotive industry guidance
  • Clarification of sub-tier supplier management and development requirements
  • Addition of corporate responsibility requirements
  • Adoption of Annex SL High Level Structure, the same structure used when developing ISO 9001:2015

Impacts for Certified Companies

The new edition of the standard will be released on December 15, 2016, after which the supplier base will need to review and implement changes within their QMS. To facilitate this updating, the IATF will announce the availability of supplier training in Q3 2016, and the IATF Oversights will issue a gap analysis guidance tool to help with implementation.

All companies certified against ISO/TS 16949:2009 will need to complete a successful transition audit, including a positive VETO certification decision, by September 14, 2018. There are two routes to transition:

Option 1 – organizations can transition within their current ISO/TS 16949:2009 audit cycle, i.e. at the next planned surveillance or re-certification audit

Option 2 – transfer at any time, i.e. outside the normal surveillance or re-certification audit cycle

To ensure VETO certification decisions are made by September 14, 2018, all transitional audits should aim to be completed by June 1, 2018, to ensure effective closure of any non-conformances identified during the transition audit.

What is next?

Stakeholders are expected to review a 2nd revision of the IATF QMS Standard in June/July 2016 for comments on the draft. The IATF will then pilot gap audits with selected certified companies before releasing the standard on December 15, 2016.

To find out more about the transition to the IATF 4th edition and ISO/TS 16949:2016 contact us for details.

For further information, please contact:

Jesreel Tai
Regional Sales Manager
SGS International Certification Services Singapore Pte Ltd
3 Toh Tuck Link #01-02/03 596228
t: +65 63790213

Keep updated via International Automotive Task Force website.

About SGS

SGS is the world’s leading inspection, verification, testing and certification company. SGS is recognized as the global benchmark for quality and integrity. With more than 85,000 employees, SGS operates a network of over 1,800 offices and laboratories around the world.